Leveled Reading Lists

What is Fountas and Pinnell?
Fountas & Pinnell reading levels (commonly referred to as "Fountas &Pinnell") are a system of reading levels developed by Irene Fountas and Gay Su Pinnell to support their guided reading method.

What is guided reading?
"Guided reading is a teaching approach designed to help individual readers build an effective system for processing a variety of increasingly challenging texts over time."

The Eight Components of Guided Reading (2010) align with the key tenets of the Common Core State Standards:

1. Complex, high level reading comprehension is the goal of guided reading instruction.
2. Guided reading centers on a sequence of high quality texts that support individual progress on a scale of spiraling text difficulty.
3. Guided reading lessons increase the volume of independent reading that students do; the goal always is confident, capable independent readers.
4. Guided reading provides explicit instruction in accurate, fluent reading.
5. Guided reading lessons provide daily opportunities to expand academic vocabulary through reading, writing, conversation, and explicit instruction.
6. Guided reading lessons include teaching that expands students' ability to apply the concepts of print, phonological awareness, access to rich vocabulary, and accurate, fluent reading to the processing of print.
7. Guided reading lessons invite students to write about reading.
8. Guided reading lessons create engagement in and motivation for reading.

In addition, an important key feature of the Common Core State Standards is to provide students with a grade-by-grade staircase of increasing text complexity and steady growth of comprehension."

Find the above information and more on the Fountas and Pinnell website.

Click on the corresponding letter below to view a book list for that reading level.

No comments:

Post a Comment